ATTENTION WRITERS - Here is your chance to share your work. Send us your short stories to be published on-line. Click here for details Don't Delay
CoKoCon
Traditional SF convention.
Labor Day weekend
Memberships limited to 500


LATEST UPDATES


June 15
New reviews in
The Book Nook,
Odds & Ends and
Voices From the Past


May 1, 2021
Updated Convention Listings


April
Book Pick
of the Month




April 15
New reviews in
The Book Nook,
The Illustrated Corner and
Voices From the Past


April 1, 2021
Updated Convention Listings


March
Book Pick
of the Month




Previous Updates

WesternSFA


Terminal Alliance
Janitors of the Post-Apocalypse #1
by Jim C Hines
DAW, $25.00, 368pp
Published: November 2017

In his hilarious new sci-fi series, Jim C. Hines introduces the unlikely heroes that may just save the galaxy: a crew of space janitors.

The Krakau came to Earth to invite humanity into a growing alliance of sentient species. However, they happened to arrive after a mutated plague wiped out half the planet, turned the rest into shambling, near-unstoppable animals, and basically destroyed human civilization. You know - your standard apocalypse.

The Krakau’s first impulse was to turn around and go home. (After all, it’s hard to have diplomatic relations with mindless savages who eat your diplomats.) Their second impulse was to try to fix us. Now, a century later, human beings might not be what they once were, but at least they’re no longer trying to eat everyone. Mostly.

Marion “Mops” Adamopoulos is surprisingly bright (for a human). As a Lieutenant on the Earth Mercenary Corps Ship Pufferfish, she’s in charge of the Shipboard Hygiene and Sanitation team. When a bioweapon attack wipes out the Krakau command crew and reverts the rest of the humans to their feral state, only Mops and her team are left with their minds intact.

Escaping the attacking aliens—not to mention her shambling crewmates—is only the beginning. Sure, Mops and her team of space janitors and plumbers can clean the ship as well as anyone, but flying the damn thing is another matter.

As they struggle to keep the Pufferfish functioning and find a cure for their crew, they stumble onto a conspiracy that could threaten the entire alliance… a conspiracy born from the truth of what happened on Earth all those years ago.

Jim C. Hines has proven himself a master of humorous fantasy with his Jig the Goblin novels, and has turned the usual fantasy tropes sideways and upside down with his Princess and his Magic Ex Libris series. With Terminal Alliance, the debut novel in his humorous military science fiction series, Jim takes us into a brand-new universe of entertainment certain to appeal to fans of both Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.

When a bioweapon kills the Krakau command crew and turns the humans feral, Marion “Mops” Adamopoulos and her sanitation crew are the only ones left in a position to save the ship and the human crew.  As they struggle to run the ship and track down a cure they find that Earth’s past with the Krakau is not what they have been taught. Now running from everyone it is a race to find and deliver the cure and solve the mystery of what happened on earth 150 years earlier when humans and Krakau first met.

I love the characters. They are each memorable individuals, human and alien alike. A rip-roaring space adventure with humor. Highly recommended ~~ Stephanie L Bannon

For more titles by Jim C Hines click here

Follow us

for notices on new content and events.

to The Nameless Zine,
a publication of WesternSFA





WesternSFA
Main Page

Disclaimer

Copyright ©2005-2021 All Rights Reserved
(Note that external links to guest web sites are not maintained by WesternSFA)
Comments, questions etc. email WebMaster